Stuart Clements
Stuart Clements

The Olivier Awards have announced the first "Be Inspired Champions", six inspirational members of the public and theatre industry committed to theatre.

The winners of the inaugural honour will be presented with a plaque during the Olivier Awards ceremony on 9 April.

The six 'champions' are Stuart Clements, a drama teacher at a specialist school for children with autism and communication difficulties; performer, choreographer and director Sally-Anne Coleman, who passed away from cancer after winners were decided; Harry Gabriel, the stagedoor keeper at the Shaftesbury Theatre; Janet Hudson-Holt, costume supervisor on The Mousetrap; Edwin Shaw, who worked as box office manager at the London Palladium for 22 years and Mark Thorburn, artistic director of Coventry Youth Operetta Group.

This year's awards will be hosted by Jason Manford at the Royal Albert Hall. Harry Potter and the Cursed Child has broken the records for most nominations for a play, with 11 nominations. Kenenth Branagh will win the Special Achievement award.

Click here for a full list of nominees