Stephen Laesk as Dewey Finn
Stephen Laesk as Dewey Finn
© Tristram Kenton

Andrew Lloyd Webber's musical adaptation of School of Rock has announced its new adult cast with Stephen Leask taking over as Dewey Finn full time from November.

Leask, who has been alternate Dewey since May this year has previous credits including One Man, Two Guvnors (West End) and Troilus and Cressida (RSC). He is joined by Alan Pearson (Avenue Q, West End) as Ned Schneebly, Michelle Francis (Mack and Mabel, Oklahoma!, Chichester) as Patty Di Marco and Craig Gallivan (Stella, Sky One) as the alternate Dewey Finn.

Original cast member Florence Andrews continues as Rosalie Mullins alongside ensemble members Nick Butcher, Cassandra McCowan, Jessica Louise Parkinson, Andy Rees, Cameron Sharp, Jake Sharp, James Smoker, Wendy Somerville, Andrew Spillett, Hannah Stratton and Alex Tomkins with swings, Paul Kemble, Laura Medforth, Billy Mitchell, Tasha Sheridan and Joshua St. Clair.

Lloyd Webber, Julian Fellowes and Glenn Slater's musical opened on Broadway in 2015 and transferred to the West End last year. Based on the 2003 film starring Jack Black, the musical tells the story of Dewey, a musician who pretends to be his friend so he can get a job as a teacher. He then puts together a band with his pupils who enter into the Battle of the Bands.

Read our interview with casting director Jessica Ronane about how to nail an open audition for the kids' cast of School of Rock.

School of Rock is currently booking at the New London Theatre until 13 January 2019.

Book tickets for School of Rock