Mark Gatiss, Reece Shearsmith and Steve Pemberton
Mark Gatiss, Reece Shearsmith and Steve Pemberton
© Dan Wooller for WhatsOnStage

After winning the award in 1997, The League of Gentlemen - made up of Mark Gatiss, Steve Pemberton, Reece Shearsmith and Jeremy Dyson - will return to Edinburgh to host this year's Edinburgh Comedy Awards, alongside last year's winner Richard Gadd.

Director of the awards, Nica Burns said: "The League have gone on to be incredibly successful writers as well as performers, equally at home in drama as with comedy... We are delighted to welcome them back to the Edinburgh Fringe where their work was first created and recognised."

Gatiss and co were crowned winners in '97 from a shortlist that also included many now-household names such as Al Murray, Graham Norton and Johnny Vegas.

The winners of the 2017 Edinburgh Comedy Awards will be announced on Saturday 26 August at a ceremony at the Dovecote Studios.