Richard Gadd is nominated for the Edinburgh Comedy Awards
Richard Gadd is nominated for the Edinburgh Comedy Awards

The shortlists for this year's Edinburgh Comedy Awards have been announced.

Sponsored by, there are two categories in the awards - the Best Comedy Show and Best Newcomer.

The Best Comedy Show shortlist is: Al Porter: At Large; James Acaster: Reset; Kieran Hodgson: Maestro; Nish Kumar: Actions Speak Louder Than Words, Unless You Shout the Words Real Loud; Randy Writes A Novel; Richard Gadd: Monkey See Monkey Do; Tom Ballard: The World Keeps Happening and Zoe Coombs Marr: Trigger Warning.

The nominees for Best Newcomer are: Bilal Zafar: Cakes; Brennan Reece: Everglow; Jayde Adams: 31; Michelle Wolf: So Brave; Nath Valvo: Happy Idiot and Scott Gibson: Life After Death.

Nica Burns, director of the Edinburgh Comedy Awards commented: "2016 reflects the breadth and quality of comedy at the Edinburgh Fringe with eight nominations for Best Comedy Show for the second year running."

Announced on Saturday 27 August, the winner of the Best Comedy Show will recieve £10,000 in cash, the Best Newcomer will get £5,000 and there will be a panel prize of £5,000.

Previous winners include Bridget Christie, Sam Simmonds and Adam Riches.

For all our festival coverage, click here to head to our Edinburgh page